Armand Cerbone, PhD, ABPP

For APA President


“Armand Cerbone is the President APA needs at this time in its history.”

– Bonnie Markham, PhD, PsyD

“The profession will move forward under his leadership.”

– Terrence Koller, PhD, ABPP

“APA, as well as the entire psychology community, will be well served with Dr. Cerbone as our next APA President.”

– Lisa Grossman, JD, PhD

“I am confident that Dr. Cerbone would make an invaluable contribution as president.”

– Janet T. Thomas, Psy.D.

“I can think of no individual who is more qualified and more well prepared than Dr. Armand Cerbone.”

– Jeffrey E. Barnett, PsyD, ABPP

“I wholeheartedly support his candidacy for APA’s President.”

– John C. Gonsiorek, PhD, ABPP

My Goals for APA

I believe my decades-long history as a leader in the battle for gay rights, on the frontline of the AIDS epidemic as a psychotherapist treating gay men, plus my deep experience in APA governance, makes me uniquely qualified to achieve my goals as APA President.

Advance ALL of psychology for ALL people

  • Co-authored first and second editions of APA’s Practice Guidelines for LGB Clients.
  • As Chair of the Council of Representatives Ad Hoc Working Group on Same-sex Relationships and Families, drafted the Resolution on Sexual Orientation and Marriage and the Resolution on Sexual Orientation, Parents, and Children, adopted by APA, 2004. These resolutions and additional data eventually provided the basis for APA’s amicus brief that the US Supreme Court cited in legalizing same-sex marriage.

Advocate for justice based on valuing every human being

My 20-year involvement in international psychology grew from my advocacy for social justice and affirmative psychotherapy for LGBTI people. I am a proud APA Fellow of Division 52 (International).

  • In 2001 I co-chaired the first international conference on LGB psychology and mental health policy.
  • The conference issued a consensus statement that created a network of psychological associations, the International Psychology Network for LGBTI Issues (iPsyNet).
  • I chaired the network during its development and now serve as Division 44’s (Society for the Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity) representative to the Oversight Group, which advises the APA Board of Directors.

A stronger, sounder vision of psychology for the 21st century

At the division level, I co-founded Division 44’s Committee on International Affairs, to stimulate an international agenda and to introduce international members into leadership.

  • Division 29 (Psychotherapy): I supported the establishment of a Domain for International Affairs that has placed international interests at the heart of the division’s mission.
  • In 2016, as the Society’s president, I signed an agreement between Division 29 and the Oriental Institute in Wuhan, China, to collaborate on training, supervision, and ethics.
  • In 2017 the Institute invited me to give a keynote address and a three-day workshop on LGBTI psychology and human rights.

An evidence-based, value-driven APA for the future

  • I served as chair of the Ethics Committee during Hoffman’s investigation and on the Commission on Ethics Processes that sprang from his report.
  • The Commission on Ethics Processes made recommendations to APA for revamping the conduct of ethics in the Association.

Please read the Meet Armand page, Why I’m Running, and my Curriculum Vitae for more details on who I am, my experience, and why I’d like to be your APA President.

I want to ask for your vote, but even more, I want to earn your number 1 vote  – by working hard to understand your concerns, showing my dedication to APA and my lifelong commitment to psychology, and by demonstrating my ability to meet my goals as APA President.

I thank you for your support.

Awards & Honors

Fellow, American Psychological Association,
2001; Division 44 (Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Issues), 2001; Division 29 (Psychotherapy), 2003; Division 12 (Clinical Psychology), 2004; Division 31 (States, Provinces, and Territories), 2006; Division 42 (Independent Practice), 2007; Division 52 (International Psychology), 2011; Division 17 (Counseling Psychology), 2013.

Fellow, Illinois Psychological Association, 2012.

The Ray Fowler Award, American Psychological Association, APA’S Highest Honor, 2017.

Heiser Award for Advocacy, Division of States, Provinces, and Territories (Division 31), American Psychological Association, 2015.

Elder Recognition Award, Society of Counseling Psychology (Division 17), American Psychological Association, 2015.

Elder Award, National Multicultural Summit, 2015.

Division 42 (Independent Practice) Outstanding Mentor Award, 2014.

Presidential Citation for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology, American Psychological Association, 2012.

Distinguished Service Award, Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues (Division 44), American Psychological Association, 2011.

John Black Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Practice of Counseling Psychology, Society for Counseling Psychology (Division 17), American Psychological Association, 2011.

Stanley Sue Award for Distinguished Contributions to Diversity in Clinical Psychology, Society of Clinical Psychology (Division 12), American Psychological Association, 2010.

Outstanding Achievement Award, Committee on Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Concerns, American Psychological Association, 2005.

Distinguished Psychologist, Illinois Psychological Association, 2005.

City of Chicago Gay and Lesbian Hall of Fame, 2003.

Distinguished Professional Contribution, Section H (Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Concerns), Georgia Psychological Association, 2001.

Distinguished Contribution to Education, Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Issues (Division 44), American Psychological Association, 2000.

Distinguished Professional Contribution, Society for the Psychological Study of Lesbian Gay and Bisexual Issues (Division 44), American Psychological Association, 1997.

Distinguished Contribution, Midwest Association of Lesbian and Gay Psychologists, 1991.

Armand Cerbone, PhD, ABPP

For APA President